Audition Notice: Dead Man’s Cell Phone

Preliminary Auditions

Sunday, October 13th 2:00-5:00 PM

Callbacks

Tuesday, October 15th 7:00-10:00 PM

Audition Notice: Dead Man’s Cell Phone
By: Sarah Ruhl
Director/Choreographer: Becky Price

Where: 377 North Main Street, Mansfield MA 02048

Audition Details:
Actors should prepare a 1-2 minute contemporary monologue. Headshot and resume requested.Please email stage manager Greg Smith at DeadMansCellPhoneMMAS@gmail.com to schedule an audition date and time or with any questions. Familiarity with the script, language and playwright’s style is highly encouraged.

Rehearsal Schedule: Sundays 5:00-8:00, Mondays and Thursdays 7:00-10:00. Rehearsals start November 10th. Possible additional rehearsal days if needed as showtime approaches. Tech – Saturday, January 11th-Wednesday, January 15th

Performance Schedule:

Week One
Friday, Jan 17, at 8 PM
Saturday, Jan 18, at 8 PM
Sunday, Jan 19, at 2 PM

Week Two
Thursday, Jan 23, at 8 PM
Friday, Jan 24, at 8 PM
Saturday, Jan 25, at 8 PM
Sunday, Jan 26, at 2 PM

Week Three
Thursday, Jan 30, at 8 PM
Friday, Jan 31, at 8 PM
Saturday, Feb 1, at 8 PM
Sunday, Feb 2, at 2 PM

Synopsis: In Dead Man’s Cell Phone, Jean hears Gordon’s cell phone ringing incessantly in a cafe, only to discover him dead. Naturally, she answers the phone and begins the rouse that introduces her to his family, career, and ultimately a new way to mourn and remember a man she never met, yet loved. The play uses heightened text and comedic surrealism to comment on technology, memory, morality, human connection and life.

Characters:
A woman, Jean – 25-40 – small yet eccentric, enigmatic, charmingly awkward, curious and easily fascinated, a free spirit
A dead man, Gordon – 30-50 – confident, less than moral though charming
Gordon’s Mother, Mrs. Gottlieb – 50-75 – elegant, opinionated, strong
Gordon’s Widow, Hermia – 30-45 – fiery and sexual, jealous
Gordon’s Brother, Dwight – 25-40 – romantic, poetic, forgotten, a lovable nerd
The Other Woman/The Stranger – 20-40 – mysterious, confident, sultry, femme fatale, has an accent